Settings in Events

Created on:
Updated on:

Each event, folder, and location has settings of their own. These settings control who can check in, what labels will print, and any noted options people need to choose.

Event Settings

Access the Event Settings from the gear in the upper right or by choosing the Event tier from the Labels & Locations tab.

Settings per Event

The Event Settings hold the following information:

  • The name of the event, which can be changed by clicking it and typing a new name.
  • If the event recurs every week, the times will carry over automatically from week to week. If not, you have to create a new session each time you have another event.
  • The Services Integration allows scheduled people to check in as Volunteers, and their check-in will show in both Check-Ins and Services.
  • Hide this event from Church Center or Headcounts, so people cannot access it from those apps.
  • If you want every location for this event to print out labels, add labels to the event, and all locations will have these labels.
  • If you tracked data before using Check-Ins, add one or multiple past sessions to this event. Only Editors have access to this option.
  • If you require a background check for your Volunteers, check the box to enable that feature.
  • Archive the whole event or delete the selected session.
    Once an event is archived, it can be deleted from the same place.

Folder Settings

From the Labels & Locations tab, choose a Folder to make changes to its settings.

Folders with no locations will have a warning on them. Any settings will not be applied until a location is associated with the folder.

  1. Add a label to all locations in your folder. Each folder can have its own labels and can add or delete the labels from that folder only.
  2. Choose either the Waterfall or Balanced options for distributing attendees among multiple locations for an event.
  3. Options are for information not automatically included on the label. When checking in, a person can select the option.

If you delete a folder, the following actions will occur:

  • All the locations inside the folder will be deleted.
    To preserve locations, close them, drag and drop locations out of the folder, and then add "Closed" to the name of the locations. 
  • The folder will still show on Check-Ins reports for any past check-ins.
  • Any stations locked to that folder will revert to being locked to the event.
Waterfall or Balanced

Distribution only exists at the folder level. Any location within the folder will have the chosen distribution applied. By default, the Waterfall option is applied to every folder, and volunteer check-ins can choose any location, regardless of the distribution.

You have two options for distributing attendees among locations:

  • Waterfall - Fills the first location to capacity before starting to fill the next location.
    PreK Blue has the capacity set to 15. At the 16th PreK check in, PreK Orange will start filling up.
  • Balanced - Balances attendees among available locations. With this setting, attendees will be auto-assigned into the locations that will keep the number of attendees per location even.
    PreK Blue and PreK Orange are filled at the same time.

If two or more attendees are from the same household, they will be assigned to the same location, whether or not the Balanced Distribution is applied.

Location Settings

From the Labels & Locations tab, choose a Location to make changes to its settings.

Settings per Location

Adjust the following settings from the Location tier:

  • If you set up filters, only attendees that fit within the parameters will be able to check in at a Self Station. Check in at a Manned Station to override these parameters.
  • Add a label to all locations in your folder. Each location can have its own labels and can add or delete the labels from that location only.
  • If you require a background check for volunteers only at this location, check this box to enable that feature. This feature will be unavailable to uncheck if it's already been checked from the Event Settings.
  • Options are for information not automatically included on the label. When checking in, a person can select the option.
  • To temporarily not allow check-ins for this location, close the location. You can open it by coming back to this page, where you'll see a banner across the top asking you if you'd like to open the location.

We highly recommend closing the location instead of deleting, if there's any previous data in the location. If you delete a location, the follow actions will occur:

  • It will still show on Check-Ins reports for any past check-ins.
  • Any stations locked to that location will revert to being locked to the event.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful