Settings in Events

Created on:
Updated on:

Each event, folder, and location can have settings of their own. These settings control who can check in, what labels will print, and any noted options people need to choose.

Some settings, like labels, are carried over from the highest tier, starting from the Event. Folders and Locations are organized under Events. A Location can be contained in a folder or go directly under the Event

 

1. Event Settings

Access the Event Settings from the gear in the upper right or by choosing the Event tier from the Labels & Locations tab.

  1. Enter a note about the service to help track information about the service, like a holiday or if weather conditions affected attendance.
  2. If you want every location for this event to print out labels, add more labels; to create new labels, select Manage Labels.
  3. Choose for your event to happen once or recur every week. If the event recurs every week, all of the times and locations will carry over automatically from week to week.
  4. The Services Integration allows scheduled people to check in as Volunteers, and their check-in will show in both Check-Ins and Services.
  5. If you have data you tracked before using Check-Ins, add one or multiple past sessions to this event. Only Editors have access to this option.
  6. If you require a background check for your Volunteers, check this box to enable that feature.

From the settings, you can also archive the whole event or delete the selected week.

2. Folder Settings

From the Labels & Locations tab, choose a Folder to make changes to its settings.

Folders with no locations will have a warning on the Labels & Locations tab as well as on the Folder Settings. Any settings will not be applied to a location until a location is associated with the folder.

  1. Add a label to all locations in your folder. Each folder can have its own labels and can add or delete the labels from that folder only.
  2. Choose either the Waterfall or Balanced options for distributing attendees among multiple locations for an event.
  3. If you check Always default to last checked-in location, attendees will automatically be assigned to the last location that they checked in to.
  4. Options are for information not automatically included on the label. When checking in, a person can select the option, and, if selected, another label will print.
  5. If you delete the folder, it will no longer be available for future check-ins, but it will still show on Check-Ins reports for any past check-ins, and any stations locked to that folder will revert to being locked to all stations.

If you delete a folder, it will delete all the locations inside of it. So, before you delete, drag and drop locations out of the folder then add closed to the name of the locations. 

Location Distribution Options

Distribution only exists at the folder level. Any location within the folder will have the chosen distribution applied. By default, the Waterfall option is applied to every folder, and volunteer check-ins can choose any location, regardless of the distribution.

You have two options for distributing attendees among locations:

  • Waterfall - Fills the first location to capacity before starting to fill the next location.
  • Balanced - Balances attendees among available locations. With this setting, attendees will be auto-assigned into the locations that will keep the number of attendees per location even.

If  two or more attendees are from the same household, they will be assigned to the same location, whether or not the Balanced Distribution is applied.

3. Location Settings

From the Labels & Locations tab, choose a Location to make changes to its settings.

  1. If you set up filters, only attendees that fit within the parameters will be able to check in at a Self Station. Volunteers at Manned Stations can override these parameters.
  2. Add a label to all locations in your folder. Each location can have its own labels and can add or delete the labels from that location only.
  3. If you require a background check for volunteers at this location, check this box to enable that feature. This feature will bee unavailable to uncheck if it's already been checked from the Event Settings.
  4. Options are for information not automatically included on the label. When checking in, a person can select the option, and, if selected, another label will print.
  5. To temporarily not allow check-ins for this location, close the location. You can open it by coming back to this page, where you'll see a banner across the top asking you if you'd like to open the location.
  6. Deleting the location will not allow you to access the location or any of its data, but it will still show on Check-Ins reports for any past check-ins, and any stations locked to that location will revert to being locked to all stations. We highly recommend closing the location instead of deleting if there's any previous data in the location.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful